Mac: Exclamation mark in orange triangle - Enable camera access

Support Center > Troubleshooting Audio/Video Issues

Published 02/11/2020 at 5:56am UTC

Page viewed 1111 times

Symptom

macOS Catalina prevents the camera from being used until permission is given specifically for the app (such as the Zoom app). This is requested the first time you join a Zoom session: 

"zoom.us" would like to access the camera"

 

You may also be interested in these articles:

 

 

Possible Causes

If you clicked "Don't Allow" or close Zoom without granting this permission, then you will see an exclamation point inside of a triangle next to the audio options when the Zoom window opens. Attempting to join audio will throw the error message: 

Enable camera access for Zoom under Security & Privacy in System Preferences

Exclamation point inside of a triangle - enable camera access

 

Resolution

 

During a session

1. If you are in a session and recieved the above error, click on the videocamera icon and then, on the message that appears, click on "Go to Settings".

Click on Start Video icon, then "Go to Settings"

 

 

2. This will open your System Preferences in a new window. It should automatically open to the "Security & Privacy" section, and the "Privacy" tab, with the "Camera" category selected. Click on the lock symbol in the lower left hand corner to make changes. 

Click the lock to make changes

 

 

3. You will be prompted to enter the password for your computer. (The same password you use when you boot up your computer.) Then click "Unlock".

System Preferences is trying to unlock Security & Privacy preferences. Enter your password to allow this.

 

 

4. Once the preferences are unlocked, click on the checkbox next to "zoom.us". A prompt will appear to let you know that this setting will not be able to take effect you quit Zoom. Let the other person/people in your session know that you'll be right back, and then click "Quit Now".

  • If you're the host of the session, be sure to click "Leave now", and NOT "End meeting for all". This will allow you to leave without forcing anyone else to have to reconnect.

Check the box next to zoom.us          Quit Now

 

 

5. Click on the lock symbol again to save your changes. 

Click on the lock to prevent further changes.

 

 

6. Re-enter your session. You can now use your camera. 

 

 

Outside of a session

1. Click on the Apple icon in the upper left hand corner of your computer's screen, and select "System Preferences".

System Preferences

 

 

2. In the window that appears, click on "Security & Privacy". 

Security & Privacy

 

 

3. Scroll down the list on the left-hand side and select "Camera". Then click on the lock symbol in the lower left hand corner to make changes. 

Multi-item list on left hand side, with an arrow pointing to "Camera", and another arrow to the lock symbol to click to make changes.

 

 

4. You will be prompted to enter the password for your computer. (The same password you use when you boot up your computer.) Then click "Unlock".

System Preferences is trying to unlock Security & Privacy preferences. Enter your password to allow this.

 

 

5. Once the preferences are unlocked, click on the checkbox next to "zoom.us", and then the lock symbol to save changes. You will now be able to use your camera n your next session. 

Arrow pointing to checkbox for zoom.us (leave checked) and then another arrow pointing to the lock symbol to save changes.

 

 

This article was last reviewed by our Support team on February 10, 2020.