Zoom: exclamation point in triangle - enabling screensharing permissions

Support Center > Tips and Settings

Published 12/26/2019 at 10:05pm UTC

Page viewed 6222 times

Details

macOS Catalina added a new category of app permissions called "Screen Recordings". This prevents a user from being able to share their screen through an app until permission is given specifically for that app. 

 

If you have NOT granted this permission, then if you try to share your screen through the Zoom app, there will be error images instead (showing an exclamation mark inside of a rectangle, instead of a preview of what you might be able to share):

Example of error screens if Screen Recording permission is not granted

 

You may also be interested in these articles:

 

 

Answer

 

During a session

1. If you are in a session and recieved the above error, click on the "Share" button anyway (lower right hand corner).

Share button

 

 

2. A pop up with appear with a button to "Open System Preferences". Click on that button.

Allow Zoom to share your screen. Open System Preferences > Security & Privacy to grant access. Buttons: Cancel, Open System Preferences

 

 

3. This will open your System Preferences in a new window. It should automatically open to the "Security & Privacy" section, and the "Privacy" tab, with the "Screen Recording" category selected. Click on the lock symbol in the lower left hand corner to make changes. 

Click the lock to make changes

 

 

6. You will be prompted to enter the password for your computer. (The same password you use when you boot up your computer.) Then click "Unlock".

System Preferences is trying to unlock Security & Privacy preferences. Enter your password to allow this.

 

 

7. Once the preferences are unlocked, click on the checkbox next to "zoom.us". A prompt will appear to let you know that this setting will not be able to take effect you quit Zoom. Let the other person/people in your session know that you'll be right back, and then click "Quit Now".

  • If you're the host of the session, be sure to click "Leave now", and NOT "End meeting for all". This will allow you to leave without forcing anyone else to have to reconnect.

Check the box next to zoom.us          Quit Now

 

 

8. Click on the lock symbol again to save your changes. 

Click on the lock to prevent further changes.

 

 

9. Re-enter your session. You will now be able to share your screen.

 

 

Outside of a session

1. Click on the Apple icon in the upper left hand corner of your computer's screen, and select "System Preferences".

System Preferences

 

 

2. In the window that appears, click on "Security & Privacy". 

Security & Privacy

 

 

3. Scroll down the list on the left-hand side and select "Screen Recording". Then click on the lock symbol in the lower left hand corner to make changes. 

Multi-item list on left hand side, with an arrow pointing to "Screen Recording", and another arrow to the lock symbol to click to make changes.

 

 

4. You will be prompted to enter the password for your computer. (The same password you use when you boot up your computer.) Then click "Unlock".

System Preferences is trying to unlock Security & Privacy preferences. Enter your password to allow this.

 

 

5. Once the preferences are unlocked, click on the checkbox next to "zoom.us", and then the lock symbol to save changes. You will now be able to screenshare in your next session. 

Arrow pointing to checkbox for zoom.us (leave checked) and then another arrow pointing to the lock symbol to save changes.

 

 

This article was last reviewed by our Support team on December 26, 2019.